August 1st, 2019: We received a new R01 to study thermosensation in skin-penetrating nematodes.

June 19th, 2019: We received a new R01 to study chemosensation in skin-penetrating nematodes.

June 14th, 2019: Navonil received a Postdoctoral NRSA. Congratulations, Navonil!

June 14th, 2019: Congratulations to Leopoldo on his graduation!

April 12th, 2019: Elisa and Ivan were accepted into the MARC Program. Congratulations, Elisa and Ivan!

April 12th, 2019: Feli received an NSF Graduate Research Fellowship. Congratulations, Feli! 

January 16th, 2019: Sophie and Kristen's paper on CO2 response valence during starvation was published in PNAS.

November 28th, 2018: Congratulations to Astra on receiving the award for best talk at the SCEP meeting!

October 29th, 2018: Elisa and Ivan were accepted into the CARE Fellows Program. Congratulations, Elisa and Ivan!

October 26th, 2018: Astra's review on host seeking in parasitic nematodes was published in IJP: Drugs and Drug Resistance.

October 15th, 2018: Astra's review on thermosensation in parasitic nematodes was published in Neuroscience Letters

September 7th, 2018: Spencer defended his thesis! Congratulations, Spencer!

July 3rd, 2018: Astra's paper on the thermosensory behaviors of skin-penetrating nematodes was published in Current Biology.

June 26th, 2018: Taylor received an HHMI Gilliam Predoctoral Fellowship. Congratulations, Taylor!

June 15th, 2018: Congratulations to Wendy on her graduation!

May 23rd, 2018: Wendy received the Dean's Prize at Research Poster Day. Congratulations, Wendy!

April 4th, 2018: Taylor received a Ford Foundation Predoctoral Fellowship. Congratulations, Taylor!

December 14th, 2017: Manon defended her thesis! Congratulations, Manon!

November 30th, 2017: Feli's paper on the olfactory behaviors of H. polygyrus was published in PLoS Pathogens.

October 10th, 2017: Spencer's paper on CRISPR/Cas9 in Strongyloides was published in PLoS Pathogens.

September 11th, 2017: Manon's paper on COresponse valence was published in Current Biology.

July 27th, 2017: Michelle received a lab safety award from EH&S! Congratulations, Michelle, and thank you for all of your hard work as our lab's safety officer!

June 20th, 2017: Sophie defended her thesis! Congratulations, Sophie!

June 15th, 2017: Congratulations to Emily, Feli, and James on their graduation!

May 24th, 2017: Feli received the Dean's Prize at Research Poster Day. Congratulations, Feli!

April 6th, 2017: Astra received an A.P. Giannini postdoctoral fellowship. Congratulations, Astra!

March 19th, 2017: James and Ryo's paper on the olfactory behaviors of the mushroom fly Drosophila falleni and its nematode parasite Howardula aoronymphium was published in Journal of Chemical Ecology.

December 16th, 2016: Wendy received a URFP award. Congratulations, Wendy!

September 23rd, 2016: Sophie's review on olfactory circuits and behaviors of nematodes was published in Current Opinion in Neurobiology.

September 22nd, 2016: Elissa was named a 2016 HHMI Faculty Scholar.

June 22nd, 2016: Taylor received a Cellular and Molecular Biology Training Grant. Congratulations, Taylor!

May 19th, 2016: Emily received an Irving and Jean Stone Research Award. Congratulations, Emily!

May 6th, 2016: Joon's paper on temperature-dependent olfactory plasticity in EPNs was published in BMC Biology.

February 29th, 2016: James was accepted into the UCLA Amgen Scholars Program. Congratulations, James!

February 8th, 2016: Astra received a Neural Microcircuits Training Grant. Congratulations, Astra!

September 24th, 2015: Spencer received the 2015 MIMG TA Award. Congratulations, Spencer!

August 10th, 2015: James and Emily were selected as Undergraduate Research Scholars. Congratulations, James and Emily!

July 1st, 2015: Sophie received a Predoctoral NRSA. Congratulations, Sophie!

July 1st, 2015: Spencer received a Microbial Pathogenesis Training Grant. Congratulations, Spencer!

June 10th, 2015: Mayra defended her thesis! Congratulations, Mayra!

June 4th, 2015: Elissa received a Burroughs-Wellcome Fund Investigators in the Pathogenesis of Disease Award.

May 28th, 2015: James received a Whitcome Fellowship. Congratulations, James!

May 26th, 2015: Elissa received the John H. Walsh Young Investigator Research prize. 

February 13th, 2015: Jenny and Mayra's paper on the immune response of Drosophila to nematode infection was published in Infection and Immunity.

January 22nd, 2015: Sophie received a Neural Microcircuits Training Grant. Congratulations, Sophie!

January 12th, 2015: Congratulations to Feli on becoming a CARE Scholar!

October 14th, 2014: Our research is profiled in the October issue of Natural History Magazine.

October 6th, 2014: Elissa received an NIH Director's New Innovator Award.

September 4th, 2014: Our research on host seeking in skin-penetrating worms is featured on the blog BugBitten:

August 15th, 2014: Spencer received a Whitcome Predoctoral Training Grant. Congratulations, Spencer!

August 14th, 2014: Michelle, Spencer, Ryo, and Anastassia's paper on odor-driven host seeking in skin-penetrating nematodes was published in PLoS Pathogens.

June 13th, 2014: Congratulations to Anastassia, Arezoo, Jenny, and Joon on their graduation!

June 8th, 2014: Mayra's review paper on gas sensing in nematodes was published in Molecular Neurobiology.

May 9th, 2014: Jenny was selected to be featured in the UCLA YouTube video produced for Undergraduate Research Week! 

April 1st, 2014: Manon and Jenny received NSF Graduate Research Fellowships. Congratulations, Manon and Jenny!

February 14th, 2014: Spencer received an NSF EAPSI Fellowship. Congratulations, Spencer!

January 30th, 2014: Sophie received a Neural Microcircuits Training Grant. Congratulations, Sophie!

November 16th, 2013: Jenny received an ABRCMS Poster Award in Microbiology. Congratulations, Jenny!

July 15th, 2013: An article about our research is in the UCLA College Report.

June 5th, 2013: Mayra and Manon's paper on regulation of CO2 response in C. elegans by ambient O2 was published in The Journal of Neuroscience.

May 24th, 2013: Joon received an Outstanding Poster Award at the Neuroscience Undergraduate Poster Session. Congratulations, Joon!

May 23rd, 2013: Elissa was named one of the Top 20 Science and Technology Professors in California by

May 17th, 2013: Elissa received a McKnight Scholar Award.

May 14th, 2013: Jenny and Joon were awarded the Science Poster Day Dean's Prize, and Jenny was
also awarded the Charles
Buchanan Award. Congratulations, Jenny and Joon!

March 3rd, 2013: Jenny received the Special Merit Award at the UC LEADS Symposium. Congratulations, Jenny!

January 14th, 2013:  Jenny was accepted into the HHMI EXROP program. Congratulations, Jenny!

October 26th, 2012:  Joon and Jenny were accepted into the Howard Hughes Undergraduate Research Program.  Congratulations, Joon and Jenny!

October 2nd, 2012:  Elissa received a MacArthur Fellowship.

August 27th, 2012:  Keely's review paper was published in Trends in Parasitology.

August 20th, 2012:  Joon was accepted into URSP.  Congratulations, Joon!

July 31st, 2012:  Adler and Manon's paper on host seeking in insect-parasitic nematodes was published in PNAS.

April 13th, 2012:  Elissa received a Searle Scholars grant.

May 5th, 2012:  Jenny was accepted into the UC LEADS and MARC programs.  Congratulations, Jenny!

October 3rd, 2011:  Manon and Michelle's paper on ets-5 was published in Genetics.

June 23rd, 2011:  Mayra received an NSF Graduate Research Fellowship.  Congratulations, Mayra!

June 20th, 2011:  Elissa received a Rita Allen Foundation grant.